Weeks Four & Five: Greek Zucchini & Squash Fritters

I’ve been traveling all around New England for the past couple of weeks on an audition tour of sorts, so there hasn’t been much time for cooking. As a result, I’ve got quite the backlog of produce piling up in my fridge. No complaints here, as I actually found myself craving veggies and missing my CSA produce while I was on the road, but it means that I’ve got some catching up to do!

My husband and I toured Greece five years ago on our honeymoon, and both of us have been in love with Greek food ever since. Greek food can be a bit seafood-focused, given its island culture, but there is a lot of delicious Greek flavor to be had if you’re a vegetarian, too.

I’ve made zucchini fritters in the past as a way of making my veggie-averse, feta-worshipping husband happy, but we had half summer squash and half zucchini in our CSA baskets for the past three weeks. I’m not a huge fan of summer squash on its own, but I wondered if it would work as well in these Greek-style fritters. And it totally did!

Mine were about 2/3 summer squash and 1/3 zucchini because I had some summer squash that really needed to be used first, and these were absolutely delicious. Throw in a young onion from my week five basket and a big bunch of fresh dill from this week’s basket, and you not only have a great way to use up a ton of veggies at once, but an incredibly tasty dinner. OPA!

photofritters

Greek Zucchini & Squash Fritters

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups packed grated zucchini & squash (6-7 very small zucchini & squash, shredded together in whatever ratio you choose)
  • 1/2 bunch dill, chopped
  • 1 young onion including greens, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup feta
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 TB olive oil for frying

Combine all ingredients except olive oil in a large bowl and mix well. Make 3-4 inch patties from the dough. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Fry patties until golden brown, about 2-3 minutes. Flip the patties and repeat on the other side. Serve with a side of yogurt sauce.

 

Yogurt Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

 

This recipe made enough for my husband and I, with one serving of leftovers. These reheat well, so pack ’em and bring them to work for lunch. Yum!

What is your favorite Greek food? How have you been serving zucchini and summer squash from your CSA basket?

Leave a Reply

