Week Three: Thyme Broccolini, Sweet Potato, and Baked Egg Mini Pizzas

Week three saw a LOT of delicious fresh salads, so you’ll excuse me if you catch me making pizza yet again this week 🙂

I had never cooked or even eaten broccolini (otherwise known as broccoli rabe!), so this was a fun experiment for me. I asked my friends on Instagram what their favorite way to eat this new-to-me leafy green, and my friend Katie from Ruffles & Truffles suggested pizza! Knowing that I’ve made and loved a Kale and Sweet Potato pizza in the past and that my brother absolutely adores sweet potatoes, I decided to incorporate that delicious veggie. I also love thyme, which pairs well with sweet potatoes, and I wanted to add a baked egg for heartiness and protein for this non-meat eater.

Behold, my pizza triumph! I’m particularly proud of this recipe of mine:

photopizza

Thyme Broccolini, Sweet Potato, and Baked Egg Mini Pizzas

Ingredients:

  • The other half of my pizza dough from last week, Bobby Flay’s recipe here
  • 1 sweet potato, thinly sliced
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 bunch broccoli rabe
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 3 TB green onions, diced
  • 2 tsp dried thyme (or fresh if you have it!)
  • 8 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 F. Toss sliced sweet potatoes with 1 TB olive oil. Bring a large pot of water to boiling. Add broccolini and blanch 30 seconds; drain. Run very cold water over the broccolini and drain again. Roughly chop.

Heat one TB olive oil in pan over medium heat. SautĂ© garlic, thyme, red pepper flakes, broccolini and 1 tsp salt just long enough to heat everything up. Roll dough out into either one regular-sized pizza or four mini pizzas. Assemble pizzas layered in this order: Mozzarella, green onions, sweet potatoes, and broccolini. Make a little “nest” in the center of each pizza with your fingers to help keep eggs in place while they’re still runny. Crack an egg over each pizza and bake until crust is golden brown and eggs are solid, about 25 minutes.

 

These were so delicious, and I had a lot of fun doing something creative with broccolini! What’s your favorite way to cook broccolini?

One thought on “Week Three: Thyme Broccolini, Sweet Potato, and Baked Egg Mini Pizzas

Leave a Reply

